St Andrew’s Church of England Primary School, Deyes Lane, Maghull L31 6DE

Maghull’s War Memorial is situated in the grounds of St Andrew’s Church of England Primary School on Deyes Lane. The school was built as a memorial to the fallen. Listed upon the memorial are the names of 26 Service men, who gave their lives in the Great War.

The Memorial

St Andrew’s Church of England Primary School was built as a memorial to honour the memory of those who gave their lives in the Great War.

Parishioners from Maghull raised funds to build this unique memorial, and local resident Mr E.E. Linaker generously donated land for the project. Mr A. E. Cuddy was responsible for the architectural plans, but sadly passed away before the project was finished. Mr T. H. Medcalf, J.P of Aughton was appointed to supervise completion.

Overseeing the scheme was the chair of the Ormskirk Education Committee, Rev. R.E.E. Whittaker. With a capacity to educate 200 young people, contractors T. Ball & Sons from Ormskirk undertook construction of the school and memorial costing £4200. The school has expanded over the past 90 years to meet modern teaching requirements but the granite memorial plaque mounted on the wall of the original building is visible from the pavement in Deyes Lane. The tablet includes an inscription and lists 26 names.

Unveiling Ceremony

St Andrew’s School was opened on 30th June 1928. The proceedings started at St. Andrew’s Church with a crowded congregation, which included relatives, ex-service men, local people, clergy, Education Committee members and dignitaries. The church Vicar R.E.E. Whittaker conducted the service and Ven. Archdeacon Spooner preached, and congratulated the Vicar and parish members for undertaking and delivering the unique memorial.

Outside the church on the Vicarage lawn the Rev. R. Marsden Vicar of St Lawrence’s, Kirkdale, Liverpool gave a service for school children, and those unable to gain admittance. The congregation proceeded to the school and Mr J.M. Wood, J.P., a respected trustee of education in Maghull unveiled the memorial plaque to the fallen. Archdeacon Spooner pronounced the dedication, and Mr Wood delivered a moving speech before opening the school doors with a golden key.

The ceremony concluded with Bugler Taylor of the Liverpool Rifles using a silver bugle to sound the “Last Post”.


To the Glory of God and in loving and reverent memory of the men associated with Maghull Church and Parish who gave their lives for King and Empire during the war 1914-1918.Also in honour of those who served, these schools were erected A.D, 1927, R.E.E. Whittaker, M.A Vicar.

Read the names of the fallen

Caption to be added...

Images used on sample design accredited to:Photographs on Sefton Looking Back